Bookexcursion

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/11/19

img_2115

Beagles and Books is excited to share another edition of It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR is a community of bloggers who link up to share what they are reading. Kellee Moye of Unleashing Readers and Jen Vincent of Teach Mentor Texts decided to give it a #kidlit focus and encourage everyone who participates to visit at least 3 of the other #kidlit book bloggers that link up and leave comments for them.

Our Recent Reads: 

 The True History of Lyndie B. Hawkins by Gail Shepherd

Named after President Lyndon Baines Johnson, history enthusiast Lyndie Baines Hawkins is passionate about reading and researching to learn the truth.  Discovering the truth about her own family. Well, that is not as easy.  While Lyndie knows that her dad, a Vietnam veteran, lost his job, she still doesn’t truly understand why her family had to sell their house and move in with her paternal grandparents.  And to make matters worst, her grandmother Lady expects Lyndie to be her best self  (Translation: a proper Southern girl) which does not match Lyndie’s bold personality.  And Lady will not let her beloved dog Hoopdee in the house because of his “houndy odor.”

While Lyndie is aware that her family especially her dad is struggling, no one will talk to her about what is wrong.  In fact, Lady makes Lyndie promise to never discuss the family with anyone.  But when her father’s smell of Aqua Velva is replaced by whiskey and he disappears for days, Lyndie knows her family is broken.  Unable to confide in her best friend and eternal optimist Dawn, a school project with D.B., a boy from a local detention center living with Dawn’s family provides Lyndie with the opportunity to uncover revelations not only about D.B..  These facts help Lyndie realize that while “there is such a thing as honorable lying,” being loyal doesn’t mean one has to be dishonest.  Loyalty is about speaking up when it’s hard and not keeping secrets that can hurt others.

The True History of Lyndie B. Hawkins blew me away.  Author Grace Shepherd’s debut novel is a must read, for she tackles tough issues with grace, sincerity, and humor.  Lyndie’s voice was so authentic and while she had my heart, because of Shepherd’s outstanding character development, my heart broke for all the characters (even “keep up appearances” Lady).  As I read, I discovered that everyone was fighting their battle alone afraid to admit their faults or fears and healing can only begin when we are willing to put our trust in others.  Special thanks to Gail Shepherd for sharing an ARC with my #bookexcursion group.  Pre-order now, for Lyndie publishes soon on March 5, 2019.

Arnold and Louise: The Great Louweezie by Erica S. Perl Illustrated by Chris Chatterton

Arnold, a brown bear, is quiet and cautious.  Louise, a small chipmunk is adventurous.  Although they don’t have a lot in common, they are best friends. In the first book in the series, Louise has decided that she can predict the future and reinvents herself as the Great Louweezie.  Arnold isn’t that easily convinced.  Can the Great Louweezie work some magic and change his mind?

With short chapters, adorably drawn illustrations, and an engaging plot, Arnold and Louise is a new series which will appeal to readers transitioning to chapter books. While Arnold and Louise have different personalities, it is clear that these best friends bring out the best in each other. Thanks to Penguin Kids for sharing Arnold and Louise with my #bookexcursion group.  The Great Louweezie recently published in January.  To find out about the other books in the series, click here.

The Good Egg by Jory John Illustrated by Pete Oswald

For fans of The Bad Seed, The Good Egg is an egg-tastic follow up!  The main character is indeed a good egg always setting a good example by doing the right thing.  The same cannot be said for his 11 carton mates who are rarely on their best behavior.  But always being good can make an egg literally crack; therefore, he makes the decision to leave the carton to truly focus on himself.  During his time away, he heals both physically and emotionally realizing that the key to happiness is to not worry about being egg-ceptional all the time.

I can’t gush about The Good Egg enough!  The adorable illustrations, the witty text with plenty of egg puns, and most importantly, the beautiful message about the importance of self-care. Pre-order now, for it releases this week on February 12, 2019.  Special thanks to fellow literacy specialist Lisa Maucione for sharing her F & G with me that she received from the publisher Harper Collins.

Etta’s & Bella’s Dog Pick of the Week:

Wanting to spread the dog love, Beagles and Books has a weekly feature of highlighting a literary selection with a canine main character.

Don’t Lick the Dog: Making Friends with Dogs by Wendy Wahman

My beagle girls are sweet and docile, but I still appreciate when people especially kids ask “Can I pet your dog?”   This picture book is a great resource for teaching children how to properly approach a dog that they do not know.  Author illustrator Wendy Wahman shares rules for how to meet a dog with a rhyming text and bold and eye catching illustrations. Tips cover etiquette for petting a dog and giving out treats.  Advice is also provided for how to safely respond when a dog is exhibiting behavior that could be scary to a child such as licking, jumping or barking.  What I love about this book is that it reminds kids that dogs aren’t toys and like people, they have their own personalities. Boy is that true!

Etta, Bella, and I thank you for stopping by Beagles and Books.  Happy reading!

happiness-is-a-warm-puppy-and-a-good-book

 

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/11/19”

  1. The Good Egg is a new one to me. How fun after The Bad Seed! I will look for The True History of Lyndie B. Hawkins. You’ve made it very enticing, Laura. And Arnold and Louise is one whose title I’ll put on the list for a young granddaughter, early reader. Thanks for all!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow @ The True History of Lyndie B. Hawkins — this one sounds so important! We don’t talk nearly enough about the fallout for vets of Vietnam with middle graders. My mom works with vets and many of her friends fought in Vietnam and came back shattered emotionally. I’m so pleased to hear of this book and can’t wait to see how it plays out. Adding it to my list right away. Thank you for sharing all these titles, Laura!

    Like

  3. I’m definitely looking forward to reading The Good Egg; looks like a great companion to The Bad Seed. I’ve got my request in at the library, so hopefully I don’t have to wait too long. The other books on your list look awesome, too. Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful week!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I can’t wait to read The Good Egg! I saw it at NCTE and never got around to reading it. Glad to hear it’s meeting your expectations! Arnold and Louise is in my pile too, looks super cute!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s